BWW member Karen Douglass will read from her recently released debut novel, Accidental Child, at 2:00 p.m., March 22, 2015 at BookBar, 4280 Tennyson Street, Denver CO, 80212.

 A futuristic, dystopian novel in the tradition of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale and Marge Piercy’s Woman on the Edge of Time, Accidental Child is set in a time when survivors of disastrous climate change have created a community in an old shopping mall, where clan hierarchy determines work, allocates food and controls the right to bear children. Rose Donahue falls through time into this arid future and must adapt or risk death trying to return to her former life where she had a lover, a young daughter and a beagle named Otis.

Karen-Douglass-150x176Karen Douglass, a Colorado writer, has published short fiction, many individual poems and five books of poetry. She has a BS (Chapman College), an MA (Georgia Southern) and an MFA (Vermont College). She is a co-host for an ongoing poetry reading in Lafayette CO, a member of Lighthouse Writers’ Workshop, Colorado Independent Publishers Association (board member), and Boulder Writers’ Workshop. You can find her full bio and publication list at www.KVDbooks.com