ACCIDENTAL CHILD, (an e-book) by Karen Douglass is a futuristic, dystopian novel in the tradition of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale and Marge Piercy’s Woman on the Edge of Time.

Survivors of disastrous climate change have created a community in an old shopping mall, where clan hierarchy determines work, allocates food and controls the right to bear children. Rose Donahue falls through time into this arid future and must adapt or risk death trying to return to her former life where she had a lover, a young daughter and a beagle named Otis.

To order or FMI please visit www.kvdbooks.com

accidental1-2

 

 

 

 

 

About the Author

Karen-DouglassKaren Douglass has an MA in English literature from Georgia Southern College and an MFA in Creative Writing from Vermont College. She served on the faculty of Georgia Southern and LSU-Shreveport, where she taught literature and composition. A former mental health nurse, she now writes full time, serves on the Broomfield Cultural Council, is a member of Gamuts, a poetry critique group; Boulder Writers’ Workshop; Lighthouse Writers’ Workshop and CIPA (Colorado Independent Publishers Association). She co-hosts Third Thursdays, a long-running poetry reading in Westminster, Colorado and the Cannon Mine Poetry series in Lafayette. Her books include Red Goddess Poems, Bones in the Chimney (short fiction), Green Rider, Thinking Horse (memoir), Sostenuto (prose poems), The Great Hunger (poems), Feed: Reading Lists for Those Who Eat (bibliography), and Two-Gun Lil (poems from childhood). She co-edited a poetry anthology, la forza di vita: caffeinated poems and has shepherded independently published books to fruition.
Karen’s website includes her Friday blog and Tuesday Tips for Poets: www.kvdbooks.com.