Karen Douglass Will Be Reading From Her Debut Novel Accidental Child

BWW member Karen Douglass will read from her recently released debut novel, Accidental Child, at 2:00 p.m., March 22, 2015 at BookBar, 4280 Tennyson Street, Denver CO, 80212.  A futuristic, dystopian novel in the tradition of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale and Marge Piercy’s Woman on the Edge of Time, Accidental Child is set in […]

Highlights from the February Literary Salon: Ava Klinger Talks About Knowing Your Characters and Choosing Tense

By Alicia Benjamin, Contributing Editor On Febuary 8, 2015, Ava Klinger, Young Adult fiction author and Boulder Writer’s Workshop professional member, read from her first novel, The Rebel’s Cresset, and spoke to the Boulders Writer’s Workshop about key elements of fiction writing: including tense, pacing, and plot and character development. Since Ava’s novel is set in […]

Welcome Professional Member Sarah Elizabeth Schantz

Sarah Elizabeth Schantz is a fiction writer living on the outskirts of Boulder, Colorado, with her family in an old farmhouse surrounded by century-old cottonwoods, open sky, and coyote. She has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize twice and have won a few other literary awards from journals like Third Coast and organizations such as A […]

Welcome New Officers

The Boulder Writers’ Workshop has a top-notch vrew of fresh officers who are eager to make the organization the best that it can be in 2015. Taking over the role of president is Gary Alan McBride. Gary is a writer and musician out of Denver, Colorado, and is committed to helping the Boulder Writers’ Workshop thrive. He […]

Welcome Professional Member Sheila Paxton

Sheila Paxton is an award-winning relationship coach. She is an expert in helping singles overcome the barriers that keep them from connecting with the love of their life. Sheila knows first-hand about the sorrow and guilt that accompany poor relationship decisions. She divorced twice before she married the love her life, Orley Paxton, to whom […]

Fig by Sarah Elizabeth Schantz

Love and sacrifice intertwine in this brilliant and provocative debut of rare beauty about a girl dealing with her mother’s schizophrenia and her own mental illness. Fig’s world lies somewhere between reality and fantasy. But as she watches Mama slowly come undone, it becomes hard to tell what is real and that is not, what […]

Getting Past Jaded by Sheila Paxton

Acclaimed author Sheila Paxton’s newest book, Getting Past Jaded is a parable with a powerful, healing message. Audra, the main character of Sheila Paxton’s modern day dating fable, Getting Past Jaded, has struggled with finding lasting love. One day, she gets so sick of dating she decides it’s time to do something for herself—get a […]

Small Change, Big Gains by Thomas H. Stoner Jr.

If the world was applying for a job, how could we build it a stronger, more sustainable energy portfolio?  In Small Change, Big Gains: Reflections of an Energy Entrepreneur, author and veteran energy executive Thomas Stoner answers these questions by taking an unique look at our global energy supply as if it were a portfolio […]

2015 Ink Award Winners

By Lori DeBoer, Director Congratulations to the 2015 winners of The Ink Awards.  This is the first year that the Boulder Writers’ Workshop has given these awards, which were nominated by and voted on by our Standard and Professional Members. The awards were given out at our Member Showcase and Recognition Reception, which was held […]

Requiem Dawn by J.L. Forest

Five thousand years ago, the Atreianii transcended humankind, reducing men and women to slaves and pets. These post-human demigods reigned for centuries across their world and throughout the solar system, and for a time they created their paradise. Yet it could not last; they warred amongst themselves, reduced the globe to dust and ash, and […]

Delicate Ministrations by J.L. Forest

Delicate Ministrations is a collection of literary delectations, loving ministrations, and fabulous words, being stories science fictional, literary, fantastical, and fay. These eleven short tales by author J.L. Forrest introduce us to alienated world travelers, estranged families, deep-space explorers, broken hearts, murderers, damaged detectives, ministerial agents, humanity after humanity, a fivesome of fancy foxes, a […]

Vote for Best Books in All Categories

The Boulder Writers’ Workshop is presenting awards to the best  member books in various categories.  The books can be published at any time and are all books by BWW Professional Members in good standing. Only BWW Standard and Professional Members in good standing are welcome to vote.  Please vote for one book in each category.  Voting […]

Vote for Best Blogger and Best Magazine Writer

Vote for the Book Awards for the Boulder Writers’ Workshop.  Limit one vote per category!  Only BWW Standard and Professional Members are invited and allowed to vote.  Thanks! The nominees for the writing awards for journalism and blogging are listed separately. All nominees are Boulder Writers’ Workshop Professional Members with dues in good standing. Nominations […]

[ Events ]

March 27, 2015 – Critique Group

Get your writing in shape for submission with this intensive critique group. Under the guidance of professional coach and published author Lori DeBoer, you’ll learn how to troubleshoot and strengthen your stories. Through critiquing other people’s pieces and having your own critiqued, you’ll gain a greater understanding of what makes a story work. Weekly writing […]

April 10, 2015 – Member Mixer

Join us at the Boulder Writers’ Workshop Member Mixer, from 4 to 6 p.m. on Friday,  April 10, 2015, if you want to be around other writers who “get” what you are doing! We are meeting at the Trident Booksellers and Cafe on the back patio at 940 Pearl St, in Boulder.   This event is […]

April 12, 2015 – Literary Salon Hosted by Sheila Paxton

The Literary Salon is fashioned after the great salons of Paris in the Eighteenth Century, and is free and open to the public. Members talk about their writing successes and challenges, solicit advice, share their experiences and keep each other up-to-date on trends. Our topics range widely–covering the art, psychology, spirituality, business and craft of […]

April 15, 2015 – Writing Book Club

This bookclub is kicked up a notch to help writers understand what comprises a best seller by looking at the story elements and how they are put together.  We’ll try to figure out what the author did that made the book so engaging and what techniques and strategies we can use in our own writing. […]

Click to See the Full Schedule